//
you're reading...
Daily, Random, Writing

Writing Prompt #100

Write for 10 minutes using “I used to think…” as your starter.

I love prompts like this.

I used to think my life would be all put together by the time I was thirty. That didn’t happen at all, but I’m so ok with that.

I used to think love was something you fall into. That line from Jerry Maguire “maybe love shouldn’t be such hard work”, that is to blame for so many sleepless nights of yearny wondering. Love is hard ass work. The end.

I used to think that I would have kids and I would have a clean house and everyone would be dressed like the JCPenney catalog. Other than Max’s weird picture poses, our life resembles absolutely nothing in the JCPenney catalog.

I used to think I wanted to be an actress, but then I realized rejection hurts me too much for that to ever be the right choice. Writing is not much better.

I used to think things were black and white, right and wrong. Now I know that life is lived in shades of grey.

I used to think that grey was only spelled gray. I don’t really know the proper way to spell it but I totally prefer grey these days.

I used to think that people who let their kids watch tv were lazy. Now….YO GABBA GABBA all the way.

I used to think that exercise sucked. Now, I still do, but I know it’s a good thing.

I used to think that pole dancers were trashy. I still do a little, but holy damn that is amazing and I wish I could do that. Sliding down a pole upside down using only leg muscles? Yes please.

I used to think vanilla ice cream was the best kind. No really, I did. I got over that pretty quickly.

I used to think that tanning beds were okay. Like, last year. But they’re not, and now I’m crocheting a sunhat.

I used to think convertibles were the best cars ever. Now all I can think of is what happens when the material starts deteriorating and the car just LEAKS. LEAKS!

The timer went off. The end. I love you.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Writing Prompt #100

  1. Totally agree with you on vanilla ice cream ๐Ÿ™‚ But don’t you think, shades of grey are man-made and whatever nature offers are still black and white?

    Posted by mychronicledlife | June 16, 2011, 8:35 am
  2. That’s a good point. My life is obviously too overrun with the man made. Or child made. I should look for some black and white. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by emylibef | June 16, 2011, 8:52 am
  3. I’m with you on the grey/gray point.

    Posted by Rebecca W. | June 16, 2011, 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

