//
you're reading...
Daily, family, Random

Clever, right?

Some of you, if you are my Facebook friends, might know that I have lately been yearning to craft.
Yea, but verily.

Seriously, though, I don’t know what’s gotten into me. I want to make clothes and quilts and all sorts of things. Maybe it’s because I had to hem the sleeves of Josh’s suit coats for Bye Bye Birdie (which I did, badly. Well the black coat was great – but the brown one was made of some weird ass material and not only did every stitch show like it was in sparkle thread, but the folds I made…they crept. Crept til a 1/2″ hem was like 2″, and Josh put it on and it looked like he was about to go wading on his hands).

But the bug has bitten, folks. Bitten hard.

My Mimi always used to make clothes, and maybe that’s the reason. Deep down, bloodborne, genetic, throbbing urge.

Once I get into it, I really think I could be good at it. Really.

So I decided to get my feet wet. I don’t have a sewing machine – my sister gave me one a couple of years ago, and I was too intimidated to try it and, well….let’s just say that machine is lost in an abyss of lost.

I did, however, have thread, needles, scissors, and a dress that was ugly enough to cut up for material.

I made this…thing, and I’m not really sure whether it’s a dollish figure or a pincushion or a straight up voodoo doll.

I freehanded a shape on some material, sewed it together, stuffed it, and decorated the edge. Well, I say I decorated…what I did was use crochet thread to tie all the holes together where the flimsy linen material had come unraveled.

Necessity is the mother of invention, right?

But guys it’s my FIRST TRY. I think it’s pretty good that it has a somewhat decipherable shape. I think I secretly hoped Lucy would latch onto it and suddenly refuse to exist without always having it. What she actually did was pick it up by one leg and oink at it before flinging it onto the carpet.

Every dream can’t come true, I guess.

I can’t stall any longer, so I present to you…Ugly Turdbaby. It’s a little piece of my heart. My creativity in unidentifiable, disheveled form.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

One thought on “Clever, right?

  1. HAHAHAHA UGLY TURD BABY!!! LOVE IT!!!

    Posted by Amanda | June 11, 2011, 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

