//
you're reading...
Daily, home, Random, Uncategorized

Apple’s what caused the great fall, you know

I have never been what one would call an “early adopter.” Of anything. Cellphones, trendy clothes, text messaging, hell, even Facebook. I hung onto Myspace until the tumbleweeds started rolling.

Not to say that I don’t welcome new things. I always stay pretty much abreast of new stuff, but….it’s hard to explain.

I still have a 3GS when everyone else is sporting iPhone 4’s, but…I waited in line for an iPad 2 on release day. So maybe I’m a little bit of an early adopter.

I DON’T KNOW, OKAY, THAT’S NOT THE POINT OF MY STORY.

Anyway, about this iPad.

A few weeks ago I noticed that the area around the home button was unstuck. Like the seam thing that goes around the edge was undone.

Well, excuse me, but that shit ain’t flying.

At first I tried to convince myself that it was no big deal. That is, after all, my way – meek and silent.

That was about the time that the white iPhone 4 came out and there was this huge uproar over a 2 mm difference in thickness or something. That got me to thinking.

If all these people with too much time and loads of money to buy brand new gadgets as they roll off the manufacturing line can kick up such a fuss over fiddly little millimeter details and glitches, then why the fuzzy rubber hell should I be okay with a pricey toy that was just a bit flawed?

Nay. It would not be so.

So I called.

Apple flipped me back and fro and over on every phone line imaginable, and finally just told me to go to a brick and mortar store.

Memphis, two hours away.

So I called the store. My iPad is the very base model (no frills here, yo), and the chick said that they couldn’t hold one for me (it was “against policy”) and that they didn’t even really keep that model in stock, anyway.

What, the lower caste of the Apple World doesn’t deserve to have their lowly 16 gig wifi iPads at the ready? The mega memory 3G model buyers are somehow better?

No. I say NO. I was standing up for the little man, the low and forgotten paupers and their basic iPad 2s.

So I decided screw it, I’m selling it.

But no one wanted it. Jury’s out on whether my conscience would have let me get away with selling what I believed to be a flawed product, even to a stranger. Also, craigslist sucks.

So I called Apple again.

That time the young lady I spoke with seemed quite helpful and ready to try and fix my problem.

Until she found out I didn’t have the six million dollar AppleCare plan. Then it was right back to living with the serfs.

So basically, what she was saying was screw the year long warranty, you have to spend more money before we’ll think about repairing a flaw that was OUR BAD.

Uggghhh.

So I vented on Twitter, and my friend Jared did some sleuthing and found a well buried and forgotten section of Apple’s website that offered me mail-in repairs.

They were singing my song. I signed up, and they FedExed me an empty box. I sent off my beloved iPad with every hope that she would come home pristine, whole, and flawless – like people who get plastic surgery.

They sent my iPad back. Unrepaired. The paperwork said that they had been “unable to replicate the issue” and that my device “meets Apple standards.”

Really, Steve Jobs? You let them run your company this way? With unfastened seals like your grandma with no bra and uncertain futures like Ke$ha?

Once more, nay.

So I set up yet ANOTHER REPAIR TICKET and sent it off again.

This time with some visual aids.

Well, they got the message. Before I knew it the status on the ticket read “replacement product shipped” and I once again believed in the goodness of the world.

Then the new device came. Guess what?

It had the same break in the seal, plus it had this weird light bleedy thing going on.

VETO.

I called Apple without much hope, but got someone with a brain. THEN he gave me to a supervisor who had even more of a brain.

As of now, another empty box is on its way to me, and according to Veronica with a Brain, there won’t be any diagnosis. They’re just sending me another iPad.

It remains to be seen.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Apple’s what caused the great fall, you know

  1. I just had to pay a premium to order a plain stripped-down iPad2 model and have it shipped in time for my husband’s birthday. I tried to order one from the apple on-line store 3 weeks before his birthday but they couldn’t make one and ship it in time. The apple store in Memphis could not tell me if they had that model in stock or whether it would be in their expected iPad deliveries before I needed it. Had to get one from an electronic sales company on Amazon. He loves it–hope it doesn’t develop any problems. I got the same run-around as you did with apple from hp customer service when I was having problems with my hp laptop which is why I switched to a mac. Guess none of them need the business from us peons.

    Posted by Susan | June 5, 2011, 10:40 am
  2. Work that Mississippi tenacity!

    Posted by Momma B | June 7, 2011, 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
