//
you're reading...
Daily, That Husband

Put on a happy face

There is something about me that I haven’t spoken out loud in a long time.

I really like theatre. Stage. Something about it energizes me.

Years and moons and kids ago, I used to thrive on a stage, in a spotlight.
My words were decided for me and all that was left was just…to be. Something about it was incredibly freeing for me. To know that my path was decided, my steps were planned, and if I strayed from the plan that the rest of the players were there to save me. To be that powerful and simultaneously exceedingly vulnerable was like nothing else in the world.

It’s something I could never accurately convey to people in my life who just didn’t get it. And that’s ok.

It’s ok because for me, it’s pretty much over. The joy is gone, I guess? I dunno.

But for the man I married? It will never, ever leave him.

And that makes me so proud.

Josh is in the final stages of rehearsals for a localish production of “Bye Bye, Birdie,” in which he plays Albert Peterson.

The first time I ever saw Josh perform, it was this same role. Of course I really thought nothing of him then, but he was adorable, talented, and absolutely fantastic.

He still is.

So community theatre, while it may be corny and cheesy and kind of like an in person “Waiting for Guffman,” is a jewel in our existence. Work and fun and luck all mix together with the talent and sometimes it makes something wonderful.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
