//
you're reading...
Daily, Kids, Random, Reflection, Writing

#Trust30 30 day initiative

One Strong Belief by Buster Benson

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

This is heavy. I mean, really heavy.

I have lived the majority of my life in an atmosphere of quiet acceptance. And with that goes judgment. I sat on church pews and listened to fervent, adamant statements. Condemnations.

I didn’t stand up for my beliefs. I sat and listened and went through every reason I disagreed…but I did it in my mind.

Now, I’m no pushover, but I get nervous when I have to defend myself. Especially when the issues being battered to and fro are ideas, beliefs. Intangible and undependable yet tightly, tightly held.

I’m outgrowing my timidity.

I still hate to talk on the phone and I avoid confrontation if I can, but I will no longer sit and listen to ignorant drivel. Not like I once would.

I have adapted to being the one who is different in my world. I admit that I choose to surround myself with people who tend to believe like I do:

That love should not be dictated or defined.
That those who need our help are not less than us.
That skin is just a wrapper.
That whatever higher being there may be, he/she just wants us to do the best we can with what we’re given.

In my family, in my house, we talk about everything. My kids know about sex and drugs and teen pregnancy (thank you, 16 & Pregnant and your addictive ways), but they also know that everyone believes differently, and that there’s really not one right answer to most things. They know that, above all else, you treat people well.

And while here in Mississippi, the lack of church and dogma might make us different…I like to think it’s a good thing, that we’re making our world better.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
