//
you're reading...
Daily, Reflection, Writing

Writing prompt #152

Freewrite for 3 minutes on this cliche: “ice water in her veins.”

Ice water? That makes no sense. No one could live on ice water blood.
I realize it’s not literal. Realism. Whatever.
This IS a cliche. I’ve heard that so many times. Not about me, I don’t think anyone knows me well enough to think that.
Maybe my husband, but if he thought I was ice water queen bitch wouldn’t I know that by now?
I have warmth. I totally do. I just can’t stand to mollycoddle the masses. How’s that for a phrase, “mollycoddle the masses?” holy shit, sometimes I’m awesome. Except times like just then when I misspell awesome four times in a row.
I’ve missed free writing, I haven’t done this in years. YEARS.
So much has changed, lately. It’s sucked, but that’s how it goes I guess. When you’re stupid and don’t think.
Actually, actually THAT situation is one I guess that would qualify my veins as ice water. But whatever. Everyone makes mistakes, or at least thats what i have to tell myself. My apologies are made. Why am I even talking about this?
I’m so lucky. Someone with ice water blood wouldn’t even realize that, right? I mean, I always pictured someone with ice water in their veins (or someone that would fit that description) would have entitlement issues and be all snooty.
And I am totally not. Entitled, that is. Sometimes I’m sure I seem snooty but that’s just because sometimes I don’t talk because I’m scared of Michael Scotting myself into some shameful situation.
I say sometimes a LOT, wow.

Anyway so my point is I do NOT have ice water in my veins.
I’ve just realized no one was saying that I was the one with the ice water. I suppose that the fact that I automatically took that to mean myself says something substantial about the way I perceive myself, or the way I think others perceive me.

I’ve always just wanted people to like me and I want to simultaneously not care if they like me or not. I would make a horrible politician.

Well, three minutes was faster than I thought.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Writing prompt #152

  1. For someone that was able to put together the honest and heartfelt apology and beat yourself up the way that you did, I can not imagine anyone thinking you have ice water in your veins! I don’t even know you and to me, you are far from it. Hugs if you need one!
    “Mollycoddle the masses” – love, love, love it! (May I steal that?)

    Posted by Momma B | May 20, 2011, 5:00 pm
  2. Steal away! Power to the people!

    Posted by emylibef | May 20, 2011, 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
