//
you're reading...
Daily, Kids, NaBloPoMo

Problems with [redacted]

Normally this is not a “mom blog,” but today…today we make an exception.

In the name of not being exploitative of my family, I will not name any names.

I will, however, say that a certain almost-nine-year-old fruit of my loins who lives in the house with my family is having some issues.

He can be a total dream. Sweet, loving, sensitive, and so, so smart. Sometimes he’s even funny.

One day last week he came into the kitchen to get an after-bedtime-putting-off-sleep drink of water, wearing nothing but his striped briefs. The ones he outgrew, oh, last year sometime.

“So, son, don’t you think you should put on some pajamas?”
“I’M WEARING UNDERWEAR.”

Nothing with my son is calm or serene. He is constantly on caps lock, ALL. THE. TIME.

“Well, it’s more like the underwear is wearing you, but I meant really you should put on at least a shirt or something if you’re going to be dancing around the house.”
“I’M NOT DANCING, AND WHAT DOES THAT MEAN, MY UNDERWEAR IS WEARING ME?”
“Don’t worry about it. Good night.”
“WELL GOOD NIGHT, I GUESS.”

Things like this I love. His quirky personality and his absolute certainty in himself, it’s priceless and I treasure it.

What I don’t treasure are nights like Sunday night, when he floored the gas and went from quirky kid to scary ass monster child in about six seconds.

I don’t want to get into fine details, but basically what happened was:

Milk was left out. Neither kid claimed it.
Said milk was subsequently knocked over, and after further investigation, its ownership was determined to be of the almost-nine-year-old male variety. Not before he was completely content to let his always-guilty-acting sister get punished for it, though.

He was punished, and oh em gee.

Screams. Fury. Huffing and puffing and sent to take a shower.
In the shower, he was banging something – a fist, a shampoo bottle, his head, a dismantled chair leg – against the wall to demonstrate his anger.

The fact that he was angry isn’t what worries me. Every kid gets angry when they’re punished.

It was the INTENSITY. The sheer instant takeover. He was immediately, completely, inconsolably angry.

So I’m at a loss.

Do we beat him? Sell him? Medicate him?

Someone please tell me this is a passing phase.

I’m asking for a friend.

This is a recording.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Problems with [redacted]

  1. Well…I can’t really say BEAT him, can I? lol But I think you really need to have a heart to heart talk with him before he gets really out of control. I have 6 kids, ages are: Boys = 19, 11, 9 Girls= 18, 9, 5 Each one of them is completely different! Talking with them usually is what ends up working best of all…but it HAS to be when you have both cooled off.

    It has to be just the two of you, with no distractions, and somewhere you can be face to face. Even if he acts like he does not care, he is listening.

    Make a special pact with him. Send him helpful reminders when things seem to be going in that direction. My kids roll their eyes when I do this..but they always end up thanking me later 🙂

    I hope this helps! You seem to be handling it all very well, being able to share it and let it out will definitely help!

    Have a wonderful day :]

    ~Nicole Acosta

    Posted by Nicole Acosta | May 10, 2011, 10:34 am
  2. Thanks! I do try to talk to him, and most of the time it helps for a little while at least. I suppose he just needs some incentive to act like a normal human. It’s got to be a tough job ’round these parts.

    Posted by emylibef | May 10, 2011, 1:23 pm
  3. My 10 year old is having major issues. One minute he’s the sweetest kid ever, and the next he’s stomping and crying and ridiculously upset.

    I blame it on hormones. 😦

    Posted by troismommy | May 10, 2011, 5:50 pm
  4. I hope its hormones. At least that way it’ll eventually end.

    Posted by emylibef | May 10, 2011, 8:19 pm
  5. I love that; all caps all the time. And that is true for some kids. My 13-year-old has certainly had her share of explosions. But her passionate nature has already proved her well as she pursues her goals with that much fervor. I was a temperamental child. Slowly but surely, I grew out of it…most of the time.

    Posted by April | May 17, 2011, 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
