//
you're reading...
Daily, Random, Reflection, Uncategorized

In case of the Zombie Apocalypse

So, I just finished The Walking Dead comics. Well, I got up to date on them, anyway. The next one comes out at the end of this month.

And here’s the thing. Out of all the (as far as I know) unrealistic events and fantastic scenarios, a couple of things kind of niggled (oh no, autocorrect, not jiggled. I said NIGGLED and I meant it) at me.

First of all, we’re all beasts at heart. Really. We bathe and corset and spray ourselves into thinking we’re somehow above the very basest human animal parts, but throw us into hopelessness for a bit and it gets REAL real quick.

Secondly and what’s gotten to me the most, is you can never really know anyone. Like KNOW them know them.

Don’t give me the soulmate true love bs. I’d bet my right leg and my left arm that Sweetie Pie has ten thousand thoughts a day that would shock and astound you.

The thing is, now that I’ve decided it’s really true, you can never really know anyone, it’s kind of scary. And by scary I mean petrifying, horrifying, poop your pants kind of fear.

Because the thing is, with that kind of uncertainty, you have to trust.

Trust that Sweetie Pie won’t strangle you in your sleep.
Or have another family.
Leave you to the zombies.
Tell your secrets.
Disappear.
Close the church doors and leave you to the madness.

And I don’t know anyone with that kind of trust.

I suppose all we can do, at the end of our ability, is to give up and learn that maybe trust is the best hope we have to be happy.

Although I really think prenuptial agreements should begin to somehow integrate undead protection clauses.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

One thought on “In case of the Zombie Apocalypse

  1. ★★★★★

    Posted by Kristin Brænne | May 9, 2011, 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

