//
you're reading...
Daily, Kids, NaBloPoMo, Random, Reflection, That Husband

Maybe it shouldn’t have to be planned

20110501-093033.jpg

Am I the only one who can never plan out a fun and fantastic time?

Hello? Bueller?

For years, it has never ever failed – I can make plans for a get together, a party, anything like that – it either winds up as a total dud or it falls miserably short of the hopes I had.

I’ve told myself for a long time that the reasons behind this are that I set my bar too high, I create these scenarios in my head that have little to no chance of actually coming to fruition.

I’m sure you can relate.

But have you ever had one of those nights/parties/events that were totally spontaneous and turned out to be completely amazing? Everything meshed together and formed this perfect harmony and you found yourself wondering what it was that made everything so great?

I totally had one of those weekends this weekend, and now I think I’ve come to the conclusion that most of the time fun just can’t be planned. I mean sure, sometimes plans go off like clockwork, everything turns out amazing.

But most of the time, the memories are made when you don’t expect it at all. And maybe that’s how it should be.

20110501-093012.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

One thought on “Maybe it shouldn’t have to be planned

  1. YES. I know how you feel. I remember planning a party in high school and hardly anyone coming. I HATED THAT. Last year for Noah’s first birthday, I planned a party outdoors and invited 40. I got super stressed. Only about 20 showed up. We had a good time for a few hours until a freak storm hit. Wind, rain, tears on my part. haha. That’s why this year I don’t even want to attempt it. I think for me, personally, it’s because I am a one on one kind of gal. I like to focus on just a few people at a time. If a whole party is my responsibility, I literally make myself sick trying to make sure they are all okay. And they can take care of themselves…it’s just a problem in my own head.

    I love you. I wish we could have a party. I dreamed about you last night. Don’t remember what though.

    Hugs.

    Posted by Amanda | May 3, 2011, 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

