//
you're reading...
Daily, Nonpoetic poetry, Reflection, Uncategorized

Justice has been done.

20110502-123357.jpg
(photo from nytimes.com)

So last night was a big deal.

We all remember where we were on September 11, almost ten years ago.

And since then, have I lived in terror every day waiting for Bin Laden to knock on my door or be on my airplane?

Not really.

For a while I did. I checked the terror level or threat level or whatever it was called, every day. Multiple times a day.

Slowly, though, it tapered off. I felt safe.

Of course I did. I am a lucky American who is protected and insulated and guarded. I take it for granted every day. I forgot.

But last night, we found out that this man, Osama bin Laden, this man who had morphed into a symbol of evil and wrong – was dead. Just dead.

This symbol of fear and hate and disregard for the lives of so many – defeated.

Of course there are others. There’s always another villain waiting in the wings.

But for a bit last night, we were united and we remembered what it means to be a nation. We realized how to come together and be excited – not for the death of a man, but for the victory over fear.

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind? I believe it, I do…but sometimes evil takes advantage of forgiveness. Takes over where basically good people would be willing to rehabilitate.

When that happens, sometimes I believe it pays to take a stand.

For those who died. For those who fight. For my babies who have no idea what hate is. For you. For me.

We can be crippled by fear, but when we come face to face with what we fear most, we are more. We will be ok, we will live our lives without bowing to threats, and as for being free – yes, yes we can.

20110502-122824.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

