//
you're reading...
Daily, Random, Reflection

This is probably offensive

As many of you know, for a while I worked in a church.

It was a great job and I enjoyed the work, and I even enjoyed the liturgical calendar and the specific precise nuances that went along with it all.

I grew up in church, too, albeit a different denomination altogether. Basically the only resemblance between the two was the whole Jesus dying on a cross thing.

Anyway, these days the only religion I have is the prayers I send up when Lucy won’t go to sleep at 3 am.

That probably appalls my mother.

This is Holy Week, or it was. It’s pretty much over, seeing as tomorrow is Easter Sunday. I feel pretty much zero desire to honor this Sunday as anything extraordinary, and I’m really not sure why. Chocolate eggs and Easter bunnies don’t offend me at all, and if I’m honest, they’re the best candy of the year.

The entire concept of the church disgusts me. There, I said it. Having been intimately involved in the workings of one of the only truly good churches I’ve ever encountered, I’ve come to the conclusion that Jesus wouldn’t have wanted churches or people to spend so much time focusing on coffee bars, spectacles, and how many people pledge their pocket lining or sign a commitment card.

So that’s something, that’s an issue. People are fickle and hypocritical and….well, human.

The Baptipalian in me wants to answer that statement with, “but you can’t lump God in with the way people behave, people are fallible and hey hey that’s what Jesus was for.”

But shouldn’t something stand out? If being churchly and holyish is such a wonderful thing, then how come church gatherings are significantly more stressful and obligated than going to the new Harry Potter movie?

I know that there are cool, fun, happening churches/worship centers. And hey, if that’s what you go for, great.

I just don’t see being Godly and good as something that has to go along with a church setting.

If I want to worship, I can be quiet and contemplative in my backyard. As a matter of fact, I think that’s what Jesus might do.

20110422-101605.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “This is probably offensive

  1. well, I guess you already know how I feel about it… 🙂

    Posted by Addie | April 23, 2011, 2:21 pm
  2. Totally. 🙂

    Posted by emylibef | April 23, 2011, 3:08 pm
  3. Being someone who makes a living from the trappings of religion, I find myself on the brink of being hypocritical. I hate organized religion. It only serves to empower those who have learned to manipulate the masses. Jesus started small, but he told followers of the way to make more followers. I only see people following the spirit of the age. Where are the disciples? I dare say that they are not to be found in most church organizations.

    Posted by Joe Marsh | April 23, 2011, 10:35 pm
  4. Go Joe!

    Posted by Addie | April 25, 2011, 8:40 am
  5. I could get really deep or philosophical or even political right now, but I’m really tired, so instead I’ll just say that I’m more than happy to have the bunny and eggs to focus on during Easter.

    Posted by PartlySunny | April 26, 2011, 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

