//
you're reading...
Daily, Random

Truth via Trash

You know about the Topix website, right?

Sure you do.

If not, remember those SLAM books everybody passed around in elementary school? I never knew what SLAM stood for, anyway, or why it must be in all caps.

Topix is basically grown up online SLAM books.

It is seven kinds of awesome.

Here’s how it works: each city (in the country? In the world? I’m not sure) has its own message board, and without requiring any sort of registration or accountability, anyone and everyone can hop in the fray and say whatever they want.

To people who don’t live under rocks, this is nothing new. The Internet by its very definition is pretty much a great big playground for people who love to hide behind anonymity. I wasted days, weeks, and months invested in huge message board drama investigations based entirely on false identities and IP addresses. I never claimed to have a noble past.

However, now that the Interwebs have come to Alcorn County, folks aren’t really sure what to do. Not only does every thread bash someone (anyone) or solicit anonymous sex, but names are flung about with such vivid smutty abandon that it would rival a junior high bathroom wall.

This is what happens when oppressed adults who spend five out of seven days in a church pew are given a little bit of freedom. They talk smack, hide behind an obnoxious screen name, and cry foul when toes get stepped on. It’s even recently gone as far as court orders demanding the administrators of the Topix sites pull some sort of rank and shut some folks up.

Like I said, it’s awesome. Pure entertainment.

I’m the first to admit that I entertain myself with these folks who take themselves so seriously, and no, you can’t know my screen name.

If you haven’t dropped by your city’s Topix site lately, waste your time no longer. Get thee there post haste. Be ready to defend your beliefs, your vagina (if that applies), and your sanity.

I’m going right now. It’s like Jerry Springer, 16 & Pregnant, and American Idol all got together and had a test tube love baby.

20110421-105722.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Truth via Trash

  1. I’ve never heard of Topix OR a slam book. I don’t live under a rock, maybe I just hide behind it.

    Posted by troismommy | April 22, 2011, 3:22 pm
  2. The rock comment was mostly about people who expect the Internet to be friendly.

    And SLAM books! Oh my. Each person had their own page and people went through and wrote what they thought of that person.

    Mean spirited madness.

    Posted by emylibef | April 22, 2011, 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

