//
you're reading...
Daily, Kids, Reflection

Older, not wiser

This weekend, my kids start having birthdays.

Lucy will be one on Saturday. One. I won’t start – all the kids will get their own posts on their day. Still, though. A whole year.

Then next month, Ava will be seven. In June Max turns nine. It’s all very surreal and sobering, and it’s made me reflect in the last few days.

I don’t know where I thought I’d be at this age or what I expected, but my life is definitely not what I pictured. Not worse, if anything it’s better in its way. But still, not what I pictured.

I suppose I’ve always thought of time as more vast than it is. Even now, if you asked me what my life would be like in five years, I’d have at least a fleeting notion of books and houses and enough of everything. Money, love, friends. Time. That’s certainly how I felt five years ago.

Oddly though, while I think of time as disproportionately huge, I don’t think I give it enough merit for as fleeting as it is. Does that make sense? Hindsight, I guess. Looking forward, five years seems huge, and then tomorrow it’s passed.

Wow, could I be more cliche?

Maybe the key is to do what you can with every day and every opportunity, and not worry about the amount of time that passes.

So ask me in five years if I am where I thought I’d be.

20110413-103638.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

One thought on “Older, not wiser

  1. I cannot believe that Lucy is almost one… I just cant get over it… and your other kids are so big too… its amazing how daily, time goes so slow, but when you look back, its really gone by so fast…

    Posted by Addie | April 13, 2011, 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

