//
you're reading...
Daily, Random, Reflection

Where I admit something that in the 90s would’ve made me mental

Since 1999, I’ve been an Internet message board devotee.

I’ve flown, driven, called to meet with people I only knew through text and cartoon avatars.

With the invention of Facebook, people aren’t quite so anonymous anymore. However, a good 33% of my Facebook friends (and that’s being conservative) are people I’ve never met in person or even spoken to on the phone.

This baffles my mother, and a lot of my friends.

I suppose it’s odd, truth be told, to treasure the friendship and approval of people I only know through the use of electronics. But I do. And even though I’ve heard it said that these friendships cannot be real, that is the furthest thing from the truth.

These people are people who don’t love me for how I conduct myself in public or the clothes I wear. They love me for the thoughts and values I have. For the essence of me. I’ve laughed with them – cried. Some of them know my darkest secrets. They’ve given me some of the best (and worst) advice about everything from relationships to childbirth.

Perhaps these friends are the reason I’ve latched onto writing the way that I have. And that is everything.

So for all the message boards – WW, 5, GS, MYP, TDS, and ItMoms – thank you for loving me. You are some of the best friends ever.

20110408-020712.jpg

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

One thought on “Where I admit something that in the 90s would’ve made me mental

  1. I get it. I totally get it! Heck, if it weren’t for the internet and message boards, I wouldn’t have published a book. My husband understands (to some degree) why I feel close to people I’ve never met “IRL”- we have hosted several of my internet friends at one point or another, so he knows they’re indeed… real people. Real nice people. 🙂

    Posted by troismommy | April 8, 2011, 8:34 pm

Leave a Reply

