//
you're reading...
Blogroll, Daily, Reflection, Writing

I Don’t Want To Learn Your Lessons

I know I stopped writing.
I read books and I watch movies and everywhere there are these stories…fantastic, moving, inspired works of art (well, some not so much so – I have been reading Twilight, after all). I suppose I feel a little (or a lot) subpar.

One thing I do a great deal is read blogs. People I know, people I don’t know, people everybody knows. And I have to wonder – why is everyone trying to teach me lessons?

Sure, some of the blogs I read I go to solely to learn. Knitting blogs, yarn and fiber, running, yoga. But these blogs are written by people who either make a living blogging about what they’re teaching me, or physically doing/teaching what they are talking about.

The blogs I’m mostly referring to, though, are just written by random Joes. 9 to 5 schmucks like everyone else, who register a blogspot/wordpress/whatever and spend chunks of their written time condescending.

I don’t want to learn about your religion/weightloss/philosophy/parentingif you call me “Dear Friend” or brother/sister/son/daughter. You’re not Billy Damn Graham.

What’s wrong with being real? With saying, “You know, I got up this morning and made my kids eat PopTarts and told them to play video games just so I could poop in peace,” I mean, hell, I can relate to that!

Maybe the lessonteachers are trying to help the world on some grand scale, I don’t know. I just know I don’t take them seriously.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Want To Learn Your Lessons

  1. I hope Im on your approved blog list… I think all I write is mindless drivel about the day to day… ha ha

    Posted by Addie | January 12, 2011, 1:58 pm
  2. I love your blog, Addie!

    Posted by emylibef | January 12, 2011, 9:19 pm
  3. I love yours… you need to write more!

    Posted by Addie | January 14, 2011, 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

