//
you're reading...
Kids, NaBloPoMo, Reflection

Life

Today is as any other day.

We went to Corinth this weekend, where I got to see my sister and Dan’s sister and meet Javeed and Noah for the first time.

If my uterus were not currently occupied, I would be well on my way to making it so, after a few hours with that sweet little man.

Josh has been so sick. He went to the doctor today, and I’m hoping that he’ll be on his way to getting better soon.

Oh, so about the Thanksgiving lunch.

We were late. Josh had gotten stuck in a meeting, we were late leaving Jackson, and so Ava’s 10:40 lunchtime (which was a lofty goal anyway) was simply out of reach. We made it into the cafeteria with about 10 minutes left in her lunch period, we thought.

No Ava. No Ava’s class.

We thought maybe they were in the classroom, so we trekked down the hall.

Nope.

We tried the cafeteria again, and this time – standing next to her teacher with her thumbnail in her mouth, wearing a red shirt that said “HAPPY” when she was clearly anything but – was the saddest kindergartner in the land. My kindergartner.

We wove through the aisle and called her name, but she didn’t hear us. I finally came up behind her and tugged a little on her shirt, and when she turned around, it was like we were offering water to a man in the desert. She didn’t believe it was us.

It was truly one of the more pathetic things I’ve seen in my life. I felt about … well, not very tall.

Her tears dried and we got to hold her hands and walk around with her for the five or so minutes before Spanish class. All was forgotten, but I still felt – feel – like dirt about it. Poor little girl with the crocodile tears.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

