//
you're reading...
Daily

In my pocket

I realized today that my dad used to carry around pictures of my sister and me in his wallet. My mom did, too.

School pictures, snapshots. Olan Mills family portraits taken for church directories.

If most of what I own wasn’t locked up in storage and stuck on indefinite pause, I’d show you.

I also realized that I don’t do that. I keep the people I love most closest to me always, but I don’t do it on photo paper.

I don’t have one picture (or many) of my kids in a tiny purse album, a slick column of cellophane wallet insert windows.

I meet people, I rave about my kids, and I’ll yank out my phone to show them pictures.

The only problem is that instead of getting Max or Ava at their spit-and-polished best, in a stiff school photo and a “Look here, sporty,” smile, they get…well…100_4271

or…
photo (3)

Which, you know, aren’t bad. But aren’t the same.

Do you keep paper pictures? What’s the difference? Is something lost and something gained?

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “In my pocket

  1. I had a physical photo of my husband in my wallet, which then got stolen. I haven’t replaced it, partly because my old wallet had a clear window and the new one didn’t have an obvious place to put it.

    My husband has photos in his wallet of me and also of our guinea pigs. Which is rather sweet.

    Posted by kicking_k | May 15, 2009, 12:03 pm
  2. Ditto that with the pics of my kids. I’m not a fan of the staged, perfectly polished, Olan Mills head tilted awkwardly to one side photos.

    And, btw, your “tweet” today made me laugh out loud!

    Cathy

    Posted by cathy | May 27, 2009, 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

My photos. My life.











More Photos

Tweeted

  • I’m introducing @AvaThomasMarsh1 to #scream and I’m sorry but I could not be happier rt now 5 hours ago
  • In case anyone was wondering, I’m totally on my 7 year old’s shit list because I refuse to cook spaghettios at 9:30 pm. 2 days ago
  • I can already tell it’s going to be an alcoholly night. 3 days ago
  • Cube neighbor is the only person I know that can be 4 phone calls & 25 minutes’ worth of offended bc someone asked her to get grape juice. 4 days ago
  • If I got an email that was not coupons, not-hired notices, or a petition to change the world, my inbox might explode. 1 week ago
