//
you're reading...
Daily, Reflection, Writing

And this is where I wax religious

In the blogs I read on a daily basis (thank you, Google Reader, for making my daily reads so seamless, abundant and full of geeky wonder) there has been much fanfare of late.

About Lent (well, not in the geeky blogs).

Personal “themes” for this Lent, how one has felt called to focus on xyz this year. 

And I get it.

I just don’t feel it. 

My former Southern Baptistyness didn’t understand the concept of Lent for a long time. My roommate in college observed Lent, and that was my first introduction to the forty days of denial. I thought she was crazy the first year, then the next year I did it with her – not out of any religious conviction, but just to support her in her giving up of chocolate and whatever else it was. I forget now.

After studying and learning more over the years, I feel that I understand the concept a little better, and I observe Lent now not (just) because of the church I attend but because of what it means to me.

Think of everything that was given up for me. Everything that was turned upside down and made uncomfortable so that I might live my life.

When I think of all of that, and when I relate all of that to the meaning of Good Friday and Easter…

giving up desserts and Diet Coke for forty days seems kind of wimpy.

 

Thinking in this vein, I can kind of see where all these blogs (written by people who have had lifetimes to reflect on Lent and such) can have “themes” to their forty days.

But for me, I don’t think much theme needs to be added. It’s pretty good as it is. If you think about it – which I didn’t, for a long time.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

