//
you're reading...
Daily, Kids, Reflection, That Husband

Thanks

Today, it snowed. In December – when it’s actually supposed to snow. When the world and normal people expect snow, it actually complied here in Mississippi and…it snowed. I wasn’t in the part of town that actually saw brief accumulation, so my attempts to take pictures were…well, unsuccessful.

I find myself unsatisfied during extreme seasons. The spring and the fall simply can’t last long enough for me. While I’d much rather be cold than hot, on days like today I find myself freezing even with umpteen layers and a heater by my feet.

Yesterday, we helped a dear friend unpack her Christmas decorations and decorate her house. This will be her first Christmas without her husband. I think about how she must feel, and I think about how I’d feel in the same situation. I realize that no matter how many problems my life hands me and how many times I find myself thinking someone else has it better, I am very very lucky and very blessed. Problems can be overcome as long as there are still two people there to try.

This Thanksgiving I was gently reminded that no matter how many times I forget it, I will never cease to be very blessed.

I’m thankful for my children, they remind me of the best parts of life.
For a good book and a warm blanket.
For waking up to a cartoon that I love just as much as the kids do.
For gadgets and gizmos.
For knitting needles and yarn, and a newfound hobby with all sorts of rewards.
For family of all kinds.
For old friends, and the laughter that only they can bring.
For feelings so strong they get stuck in my throat even as I type.
I’m thankful for my problems, they mean I’m not numb or forgotten.
For all the possibilities.

Many times I skim over all that I’ve been given and I focus on what I’m missing or what I want. When in reality, all that I’ve ever needed, I have – and have always had.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

