//
you're reading...
Daily

Pod Philosophy

Maybe it’s just been too long since I’ve listened for any meaning in my music. Showtunes will sometimes have that effect on me – their meanings are usually so simply stated in your face that you don’t have to dig at all.

Dan found my lost iPod in his most recent cleaning bout, and I took it running with me last night. I just hit “shuffle songs” and took off, vowing not to mess with the songs it gave me and to take what I got. It gave me…a lot to think about. I’ve put the most meaningful snippets at the end of the post. Some of it made me roll my eyes when it started playing…only to surprise me with stating exactly how I felt. And that’s what life is all about, isn’t it? I mean, if you can’t find the meaning of life in Clay Aiken lyrics then WHERE CAN YOU?

Believe me, as bad as I’ve been,
now you’re in for a pleasant surprise

I’ve wasted time
I’ve wasted me
So say I’m slow for my age
A late bloomer, Okay, I agree

That I’ve been one rotten kid
Some son, some pride and some joy
But I’ll get over these lousin’ up
Messin’ up, screwin’ up times

You’ll see, Ma, now comes the better part
Someone’s gonna make good
Cross his stupid heart
And I’m gonna make you,
Finally make you
Proud of your boy…

How I wish I could surrender my soul;
Shed the clothes that become my skin;
See the liar that burns within my needing.
How I wish I’d chosen darkness from cold.
How I wish I had screamed out loud,
Instead I’ve found no meaning.
I guess it’s time I run far, far away; find comfort in pain,
All pleasure’s the same, it just keeps me from trouble.

Pride can stand a thousand trials
The strong will never fall
But watching stars without you my soul cried…

 

Also, on a completely separate note,
after three years of life, 
Ava Thomas Marsh finally got a haircut.

About emylibef

I'm a wife, a mother, and many other things. I have blogged my life for over six years now, and this blog is the culmination of several blogs. In other words, I'm trying to get it all together. Bear with me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

